Inaugural Lectures and Ceremony

Three prominent economists graced the inauguration of the Institute of Global Economics and Finance (IGEF) of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) on 21 June 2010 by giving inaugural lectures. Professor Lawrence J. Lau, Vice-Chancellor cum Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics of CUHK, talked about the role of Hong Kong as the financial centre of China, East Asia and the world. Another speaker, Professor Joseph Yam, Distinguished Research Fellow of IGEF, shared his views on the Renminbi offshore market in Hong Kong. Professor Robert A. Mundell, 1999 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences and Distinguished Professor-at-Large, CUHK also addressed the audience at the lecture on the evolution of the international monetary system. The first academic activity of the newly established Institute, the inaugural lectures shed light on new developments and ideas in global economics and finance, with a particular focus on China and Hong Kong. The event drew over 80 high-level professionals and executives from the finance and banking sectors as well as government agencies.

The Founding Director of the Institute, Professor Liu Pak-wai, who is also Professor of Economics and former Pro-Vice-Chancellor of CUHK, thanked China Development Bank, Henderson Land Development Company Limited, Sun Hung Kai Properties Ltd., HSBC and Dr. Vincent Cheng for their staunch support for the establishment of the Institute. Professor Liu said at the inauguration ceremony, 'Our location away from the epicentre of the financial tsunami gives us a vantage point in looking at the post-crisis international financial system which could be different from that of the U.S. It is high time for academics and policy-makers in Asia to take stock and re-examine our assumptions and position on global finance from a regional perspective. One of the missions of the Institute of Global Economics and Finance is to contribute conceptual and policy ideas on global economics and finance, with an emphasis on the liberalization of China's financial system after the financial crisis and the role of Hong Kong in the process.'


dsc_1047_500

  (From left) Professor Liu Pak-wai, Founding Director of the Institute of Global Economics and Finance, CUHK, Professor Robert A. Mundell, 1999 Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences and Distinguished Professor-at-Large, CUHK, Mr. Mak Nak-Keung, Chief Economist of Sun Hung Kai Properties Ltd., Dr. Di Weiping, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Branch of China Development Bank Corporation, Professor Lawrence J. Lau, Vice-Chancellor and Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics, CUHK, and Professor Joseph Yam, Distinguished Research Fellow of Institute of Global Economics and Finance, CUHK officiate at the Inauguration Ceremony of the Institute.

全球经济及金融研究所

成立典礼

香港中文大学全球经济及金融研究所成立典礼于2010年6月21日举行。三位著名经济学家于典礼上就多个热门经济及金融议题发表演讲。时任中大校长、蓝饶富 暨蓝凯丽经济学讲座教授刘遵义教授分析了香港作为中国、东亚以至全球金融中心所扮演的角色;中大全球经济及金融研究所杰出研究员、前任香港金融管理局总裁 任志刚教授则分享了其对香港成为人民币离岸中心的看法;中大博文讲座教授、1999年诺贝尔经济科学奖得主蒙代尔教授亦讲解了国际货币制度的发展和演变。这是研究所成立以来首项学术活动,三位讲者剖析了全球经济及金融的新发展和新思维,尤其聚焦于香港与中国内地的互动关系。是次活动吸引了逾80位金融及银行业的高级专业人士和行政人员,以及政府官员出席。

研究所创所所长、中大前副校长兼经济学讲座教授廖柏伟教授于典礼上感谢国家开发银行、恒基兆业地产有限公司、新鸿基地产发展有限公司与及郑海泉博士对研究所成立的极力支持,廖教授指出:「相比美国等地,香港并非身处于金融海啸的震央,故能从不同的角度分析国际金融体系于危机过后的新形势。亚洲的学者及决策者应把握这良机,从地区性角度重新检视我们对环球金融系统的既定观点,并重新定位。全球经济及金融研究所的其中一项使命,就是为全球经济及金融注入新思维和新策略,尤其着重于金融危机过后中国金融体系的开放,以及香港在当中应扮演的角色。」

 


dsc_1047_500

 

(左起) 香港中文大学(中大)全球经济及金融研究所创所所长廖柏伟教授,中大博文讲座教授、1999年诺贝尔经济科学奖得奖人罗伯特・蒙代尔教授,新鸿基地产发展有限公司首席经济师麦力强先生,国家开发银行股份有限公司香港分行狄卫平行长,中大全球经济及金融研究所蓝饶富暨蓝凯丽经济学讲座教授刘遵义教授,与中大全球经济及金融研究所杰出研究员任志刚教授主持全球经济及金融研究所成立典礼